PDA

View Full Version : HD antenna?

Mark Bolton
12-26-2010, 6:42 PM
I am wondering what experiences any have had with this whole HD antenna thing (knowing its just an antenna). We are "cutting the cord" or whatever its called at the house. Work is so swamped we are never home and 80+ a month for a TV that we dont watch is ridiculous. Getting the OTA stations coupled with Netflix would more that suffice at home.

I have been reading but man its a gauntlet of information that is all covered by the "an antenna that works well in one location may not work well in another". We are at least 35 miles from the nearest station but we are on a 1500' ridgeline with a clear line of sight for, well, forever.

Just wondering if anyone had any words of wisdom before I just close my eyes, point to the screen, and order which ever one I am pointing at.

Thanks,
Mark

Eric Franklin
12-26-2010, 7:01 PM
I've been using an antenna for a couple of years and I would have a really hard time pay for cable/satellite again. I would look at http://antennaweb.org/ (http://antennaweb.org) which will give you distances and headings for each of your local stations. My stations range from 11-35 miles from my house and all of them are SE expect for 2 stations which NW. I bought a Terk HDTVO (http://www.amazon.com/Terk-HDTVO-Amplified-HDTV-Antenna/dp/B0009W9WHQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1293407421&sr=8-1) which I point NE and can pickup all the stations. I gave the antenna a try because it was inexpensive and easy to mount.

Antenna reviews can't be trusted because it really varies per location if the antenna performs well. My recommendation is to try an inexpensive antenna if the stations you want are relatively close.