PDA

View Full Version : One more Christmas present

Mark Yundt
12-21-2010, 11:55 PM
I'm cross pollinating again. But this belongs here more than in my usual woodcarving threads. I've never made anything close to this and started with the most basic knowledge. I'm not a musician so my understanding of music and what it takes to produce it is very limited. And so with a limited base of finding out that the length of strings are divided into fifths to determine the placement of the bridges and knowing the side angles I had the
basics to start building this out of scraps around the shop. It's Birch, Maple, Cherry, Walnut , African Walnut and the top is Spruce.
The top , by the way, isn't fastened in as it is free floating. I know you can build these by just gluing a top over the whole piece but I can't do things the easy way. It's supported only at the side edges and sits on two 1/4 inch supports that sit directly under the main bridges. The tension of the strings keeps it in place and allows it to move. The top is 1/8 th inch.
I also forged the tuning pegs as well as the tuning tool and the hitch pins. I made a machine to allow me to make my own strings ( not the .20 wire,, the looped ends) I made the hammers two sided , one is bare wood and the other is suede for two different sounds. The two 2 inch rosettes are my initials overlapping each other, and the other is taken from the design of the inlay.
I also used brass rod on the segmented bridges and on the side frets.
Finish is old school Nitro Cellulose Lacquer , hand rubbed after many coats. Man, that stuff is wicked but great for instruments so I've been told. And 24K gold to indicate the keys on the bridges.
I have construction shots if anyone is interested.
All told it was a fun project and I am planning another with more strings for a broader range. And ,,, it'll have carvings on it for sure!

Abi Parris
12-22-2010, 2:12 AM
Beautiful work Mark! Your skills never fail to impress.

Roger Bullock