PDA

View Full Version : Which Dado set for Hammer K3?

Brian Cosgrove
12-21-2010, 9:39 PM
Hi. I am awaiting delivery of a Hammer K3 slider and have spent the last few days researching dado sets. I have narrowed it down to the Infinity Dadonator 6" set (24 tooth outer blades, 6 tooth chippers) which would be $230.00 for the set with the required 30mm arbor bore and The Ridge Carbide 6" set (24 tooth outer blades and 4 tooth chippers), which would be $196 for the set with the required 30mm bore. Both include shipping. The Forrest Dado King would be $331 for the 6" set. I am looking for opinions on which is the better option. I am a hobbyist and will not be using the set on a regular basis, but do want decent flat bottom results when I use it. Also, my local sharpener sells Everlast blades, which seem nice, but their 6" dado set only has 18 teeth on the outers, which seem a little low for me. If anyone has this set, I would like your input. Thanks in advance for your assistance. Brian

Stephen Cherry
12-21-2010, 10:03 PM
Why only a 6 inch dado? I have a 10 inch dado king for my felder k975, and it works great. I would consider an 8", and would also call felder in delaware to see what their Christmas specials are on their eurocutters. I was at their open house this past summer, and their tooling looks like it is at a higher level than the typical dado blade.

Just my opinion, but if you are spending good money on the machine, why not make it work with some good blades?

C Scott McDonald
12-22-2010, 12:17 AM
I have the Forrest 8" drilled for Felder and it is awesome for my Hammer. I would buy it again in a second. Cut quality is excellent. 8" is the max for the dado on the Hammer btw. Another thing with the Forrest is they drill the pin holes on the chippers so they line up nicely with the outside blades.

You will have to make or buy some table inserts for it so it is zero clearence on the dados.

I would really recommend the 8" Forrest drilled for the felder.