PDA

View Full Version : Dresser help

Kent E. Matthew
12-20-2010, 5:44 PM
This is my first attempt at this kind of furniture. A mission style double dresser. Here is a photo of part of the glue up.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c56/Goose5/dresserphoto.jpg

The right side is perfectly fine. The left side is presenting a problem. It is slightly out of square. I would like to finish this project with inset drawers. Any tips and tricks and experience would be greatly appreciated.

Fall back plan make square drawer fronts to set on the outside of the face frame, or just finish it as planned. I'll probably be the only one that notices the problem.

Jamie Buxton
12-20-2010, 11:47 PM
From that photo, I don't see a problem.

If the thing isn't too far out of square, you can make inset drawers to fit the frame. You fit each drawer to each hole, so it turns out they're not interchangeable. But they fit properly, and slide properly, and nobody will ever notice. If they do notice, you can explain that this is real handcrafted furniture -- each drawer is hand-fitted to the case. That's actually how furniture used to be before factories.

Frank Drew
12-21-2010, 1:15 AM
For a piece of handmade furniture I'd hand fit the drawers, so even if they were all supposed to be nominally the same size I wouldn't attempt to make them interchangeable -- that's the point of hand fitting them to their specific openings. (For one thing, carefully choosing the grain for the drawer fronts would most often necessitate their going where they belong and not randomly, in any opening.)

Mark each drawer and drawer opening; a couple of stabs with a chisel to incise Roman numerals I, II, III, IV, etc. is a common marking method.

Kent E. Matthew
12-21-2010, 9:27 AM