PDA

View Full Version : In need of advise from Williams & Hussey Molder owner/operators

Don Buck
12-19-2010, 8:55 PM
I got an early Christmas present yesterday when I purchased a used Williams & Hussey Model W7S molder at a contractor's going-out-of-business sale. I couldn't try it at the sale but it looked in very good condition and when I brought it home I plugged it in to see if the motor was working it tripped my 115v 20 amp circuit breaker. I cleaned off the motor plate to discover it draws 23 amps. I'm in the midst of wiring my new shop and will be putting in many 30 amp 115v and several 220v circuits so I will be ready to handle the power requirements. The power cord and switch look shoddy (12 gauge curcuit wire and a 115v single pole "light" switch. I will replace with a proper cord and switch, perhaps purchasing from W&H with some other parts as I discover what needs replacing & updating.

Never having seen a W&H in action (other than video) I have no experience with the machine. I tried to open the "hood" to inspect the inside but to my suprise I could only open the hood about 30 degrees as it seem to be jamming at the pivot (see photo). It looks like the unit once had a retention stud & nut and the stud seem to be broken off about 1/3" below the hood. Perhaps this is hanging up. Is there any other logical reason for the hood to hang up? I may have to get my drill and extractor active over the long weekend...

Looking from below, I see a drive chain that looks like it has some slack (again, see photo). Is this normal?

The infeed and outfeed rollers have some grooving but don't seem to be in too bad of shape.

Questions -

Any comments on the hanging hood?

Any idea of the vintage of this unit?

Any suggestions on what to inspect and adjust before trying it out?

Lastly, if I replace the switch, would it be best to convert to 220v while I was at it? I don't plan to take the unit off-site.

Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas!!!

Don

Carroll Courtney