PDA

View Full Version : Photo engraving

Robert E Miller
12-16-2010, 10:37 PM
I am new to lasers but not to cnc machining. I am ordering a rabitt 60w in a few days to add to my capabilities. I have been searching the web for any and all pointers these last 3 weeks. My first easy question is, when doing photo engraving is it best to have a high resolution picture from say a digital camera? I understand it's important to have a good clean picture but what can you get away with? I have read people scanning pictures too.
I am getting photograv and corel draw x5 so I will have a ton to learn.

Bill Cunningham
12-16-2010, 11:17 PM
The usual minimum res I will accept is 2000 pixels on the long end.. I usually explain this in great detail to my customer, then they send me a 400 x 600 pixel image.:mad:.. Most customers really don't have a clue.. They set their digital cameras to the highest number of photos they can fit on the chip, and because it looks great on screen it must be fine for everything... It really all boils down to the size of photograph the customer wants engraved, and what they want it engraved into.. Glass only needs 150ppi so the 600 pixel image will give you a decent image up to 4 inches across, into 'real' marble 600 ppi will give you an image 2" across.. As for how the Chinese lasers deal with photographs? I have no idea... In most cases you can do a bit of bit stretching, I have gotten good results from poor res photos, if their in focus.. Photograv seems to sharpen those images up a bit particularly when preparing for granite engraving..

Ahh I see this was your first post!! Welcome to the creek

Larry Bratton
12-17-2010, 10:58 AM
Robert,