PDA

View Full Version : Completed Toy Box w/ Pics

Mike Vermeil
01-04-2005, 5:35 AM
This is my first attempt at including pictures in a post, so I appologize if it's not quite correct.

I just finished this toy box as a baby gift for my new neice. The top and legs are Peruvian Walnut (more like a light weight Mahogany than usual Maple), and the box is Maple. It was a fun project and gave me the opportunity to try some new techniques and perfect some others. What I found out was when working with curves, expect the time and patience required to increase exponentially.

I shaped the top of the top with a large jig that guided the workpiece under my router, which moved side-to-side across the jig. It was slow going, but worked extremely well. Only minor sanding was required to clean it up to a perfect curve. I then shaped the underside of the ends of the top using my rounter mounted on a trammel (sp?) arm, which worked surprisingly well, and carved out the remainder of the bottom with an angle grinder. The underside is not a perfect curve like the topside, but it's pretty good, and is of course only the underside.