PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on Hammer K3 sliding saw please

Brian Cosgrove
12-13-2010, 10:49 AM
Hi, I have been researching on sliders and it seem the consensus is to get the longest slider possible. I have been looking at the Hammer K3 winner and K3 perform models. The perform has a 98" slide, whereas the winner has 78" I am a hobbyist who mostly does single production items like casework dressers, nightstands, chairs, etc and a little frameless cabinetry. I plan to do more framelss cabinetry but not a ton, mostly for myself and close family/friends if need be. I guess my predicament is that the K3 winner with 78" slide, 49" rip capacity and scoring motor is on sale right now for $4999, which I believe is a great price. The perform is currently well over $7000. My question is for those who may have the shorter slider on your saw, can you reasonably get by with it? I know Hammer also sells a track that you can use to rip the occasional longer piece with the shorter slider, which I assume would work fine. I also only have 21' depth in my garage, which would work better for a shorter slider. Also, with the 49" rip capacity, I could cut longer sheet stock the traditional way. Advice, please :)

John P Clark
12-13-2010, 10:57 AM
I have the Hammer K3 winner with the 78" slider and I am very happy with it. It does everything that I want and I can easly cut down sheet goods with this saw. With a 21-ft deep garage, I think that you would be pushing it with a 8' slider with working room. Go with the winner and it will perform everything that you will need it to do. Mine is configured the same as you are looking at with the 49" rip, scoring blade, and winner package. My 2 cents worth.

Frank Drew
12-13-2010, 12:40 PM
Brian