PDA

View Full Version : Thanks for the cold advice..now another question and Target recommendation for cherry

Clisby Clark
12-12-2010, 11:05 PM
So I got the last coat sprayed and brought the pieces into the house which wasn't that big a deal after all. This was my fist time spraying any target products and I have one comment and a question.

First the comment. I read on the Target forum where Jeff W. advised someone to spray Golden Red Ultraseal under EM8000 to simulate solvent finishes and this works like a charm. I sprayed two light coats of the shellac before topcoating and am very pleased with the color. Jeff was also very helpful to me over the phone.

Now the question. As I said, I'm a rank rookie with Target products and was unsure exactly how thick to spray the product. I know it should be 2 mils but being without a mil gauge, I had no idea how thick my coats were. As it turns out, I think my first coats were way too thin because the finish felt rough after drying. I sprayed a third coat on and that took care of everything but my drawer fronts which had some small nibs that I didn't like. After two hours of drying I sanded the fronts down flat with brand new 320 paper and wiped down with a freshly cleaned towel and still got more nibs than I want. This time, though, they are very small-about the size of a pinpoint.

I know most people will never know the nibs are there, but I want to learn how to avoid this problem in the future. What do you think went wrong? I sprayed three flat plywood panels almost flawlessly as well as a beaded face frame and a frame-and panel side piece that turned out very well.

I will admit the shop wasn't totally dust-free and will try to do a better job preparing the shop in the future.

Is there any way to knock the nibs down and avoid respraying the drawer fronts?

Thanks as always!

Phil Phelps
12-13-2010, 9:17 AM