PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Arbor problem

Rick Moyer
12-12-2010, 4:55 PM
Saw is a G0691 Grizzly. Here's what happened and here is the problem.

I put my thin kerf rip blade on (which I have never done on this saw before). Apparently I didn't have it tight, as it spun somewhat on the arbor. I believe the nut bottomed out before the blade was tight because of the thin kerf:confused:?? Unfortunately I believe it spun the closest thread(s) because it was very difficult to remove. I had to pry it off with some long pieces of wood. Now my regular blade is also very difficult to get on all the way as I believe the nut won't tighten all the way because of the last thread(s).:(

Q? Can I just clean up the threads? I suspect not as they would have to be re-tapped (die'd) and I'm not sure if a die would go all the way down to the last thread. I also don't know what size the die would be or even if it would fit into my tool (doubtful). I'm guessing I'll have to get a new arbor, but that brings the problem of replacing it, which I'm not real comfortable that I'll be able to get it properly alligned without run-out.

I know, call Grizzly, which I will do tomorrow. I thought you may have some insight.

Bill Huber
12-12-2010, 5:24 PM
The saw arbor has acme threads on it, they are kind of square on the top and not pointed like a machine screw is.

I would think with a little work with a small file you could clean them up.

You could also use a good flat washer, a large one, the size of the one that is on the arbor nut now and this will take care of the problem. Not just a flat washer that you would put on a bolt but a machined flat washer, I think Ace Hardware has them.

Rick Moyer
12-12-2010, 5:30 PM
Bill , thanks for the quick reply. I think I will try to clean things up with a file, but was a little concerned about screwing things up more.