PDA

View Full Version : Creekers and their gouges

Chris Colman
12-07-2010, 8:45 AM
Survey question.

What size gouges do you all use?

I am just getting started and am only a hobby turner, so I am still using many of the old carbon steel spindle tools my father used.

I have some new HSS tools, but only a 3/8 bowl gouge, Ellsworth type grind. I use that sucker for everything.... probably many things it should not be used for. It is my go-to tool. Spindle turning, shear scraping, roughing, etc.

My lathe is 12 inch swing, so I stay with smaller turnings, and have only begun experimenting with green wood roughings.

Would I benefit from a larger bowl gouge? And where would I see the difference? What size should I try next? 1/2"?

Please advise.

bob svoboda
12-07-2010, 9:08 AM
Chris. I have 3 3/8 bowl gouges with different grinds and flutes for most of my bowl work. I also have a 1/2 that I use mainly for roughing. I think a 3/8 would serve you very well.

Prashun Patel
12-07-2010, 9:09 AM
I'm a beginner too... But am doing a fair amount of green wood bowls these days:

My go-to is the 1/2" bowl gouge. The 3/8" is good for small things, details, and finish cuts. But I find the 1/2" the most versatile.

For larger hollowing, and bringing things into round, I find the 5/8" gouge to be very useful.

If I were you, I'd prob get a 1/2" bowl gouge. Having overground my 1st 1/2", I'm thinking to replace mine with a Thompson.

I also find a round nose scraper useful for finishing cuts and smoothing transitions.

Roger Chandler
12-07-2010, 9:56 AM
The 3/8 gouge with the side grind is a very versatile tool. I use it a lot! When I hog out a bowl of some size, I go to the 1/2" and it has seen a lot of use as well, but when you want to get a little finer detail, the I go with the 3/8.