PDA

View Full Version : Best way to secure an entry door transition?

John W Henderson
12-02-2010, 12:11 PM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to woodworking in general. I just installed a new back door in an older house. In the process, we raised the entire door up about 1/2" because the floor rises into the room and the old door had been cut at an angle on the latch side so it wouldn't hit the floor when it opened into the room. After being in the house two years, I decided to replace it with a better insulated door and raise it in the process.

In any case, I have a piece of oak ranch casing I'm using as a transition to butt up against the inner lip of the door that shows so it looks cleaner. I cut it to fit quite nicely and am about ready to install it but don't know how the best way to attach it would be.

My initial take was to drill and countersink screw holes, drill it in with some longer-ish screws (2"?) and then fill and sand the holes as I will be staining the wood.

I thought I'd ask those who know better what they would do. I just assumed hiding the attachment mechanism (screw heads) would be more attractive but am not sure if it's better to just leave the screws showing? There are three other transitions I looked at -- one has no sign of anything that I can tell and the grain looks continuous (no filler evidence) so I'm guessing it's perhaps glued; the other two both have the screws showing.

Thanks for any thoughts. What would you do?

John

Bill McDermott
12-02-2010, 12:33 PM