PDA

View Full Version : Help with keeping a ripped board straight

David Fagan
12-01-2010, 4:25 PM
I'm fairly new to woodworking (most of my projects have been building garage cabinets and stuff out of plywood). I'm starting to work on a project and bought some mahogany. Just looking for some help on technique and order of operations. I had some 7/8" x 7" boards, that I had planed down to 1/2" thick. I used a planer sled to get one face flat, and then planed down to 1/2" This worked well. Since I don't have a jointer, I next used a straightedge and router to get one straight edge. My next step was to rip the boards down into 2" wide strips. The first board went pretty well, when I went to rip the second board the tension in the wood caused it to warp after ripping. Should I have ripped it wider (say 2 1/4" or 2 1/2") and then re "jointed" and ripped to final thickness? If that's the case then I think the jointer I've been wanting to buy anyways is nearer in my future than originally planned.

Thanks for the help.

John Coloccia
12-01-2010, 4:57 PM
If I need them precise, I'll always rip oversize and then trim to proper size (joint if necessary and re-rip on the table saw). I don't know if that's considered a "best practice" but almost everyone I know sneaks up on the final dimension when they want precision.

Todd Crawford
12-01-2010, 4:58 PM
If I need them precise, I'll always rip oversize and then trim to proper size (joint if necessary and re-rip on the table saw). I don't know if that's considered a "best practice" but almost everyone I know sneaks up on the final dimension when they want precision.

Same thing I do as well.

Dave Verstraete
12-01-2010, 5:08 PM
Same procedure here, too

Larry Fox
12-01-2010, 5:22 PM
If I really need them to stay put (or have a better chance of it) I rip them oversized and let them sit for a week or so and then rip them to final dimensions.

Jay Allen
12-01-2010, 5:27 PM