PDA

View Full Version : kitchen and bath cabinets

Stephen Sebed
11-29-2010, 10:45 PM
I'm redoing my kitchen and bathroom cabinets in oak. What finish would you recommend for this application? I'm thinking poly. Also, I would like to get a spray system. What type would you recommend? Should I get an air compressor and sprayer or would a stand alone sprayer system work better? Then there's hvlp sprayers, different tip sizes and operating pressures? Can you guys help make sense of it all?

Thanks,
Sven

Zahid Naqvi
11-30-2010, 4:41 PM
I'm not an expert on finishing by any means, but I would not recommend using poly on kitchen cabinets. Just a personal preference. I don't like the look of Poly (looks plasticky to me). Besides kitchen cabinets do not take a beating like a table top or floors(for which poly is more appropriate). If I were you I'd use something like shellac, much more serviceable, preserves the wood feel/texture, and the current trend seems to incline towards a "natural" looking finish (just an observation based on looking at new construction). Or use the witches brew, which is my second favorite topcoat. Both can be easily applied using a pad and/or rags, one of those fool proof topcoats.

Scott Holmes
11-30-2010, 6:41 PM
If you are looking for brand names Waterlox Original.

Contrary to what many think... Spar and marine varnishes are NOT as waterproof as interior finishes.

Pre finish if you can. A "newbee" spraying varnish in a bathroom or kitchen is a bad idea. You should not "learn" to spray on a project like this. Overspray will get on everything not covered and well protected.

Stephen Sebed
11-30-2010, 11:38 PM
I'm not a newbee to spraying, I did a fair amount of spraying lacquer 4-5 yrs ago and I was good at spraying. What I'm not sure about is spraying anything other than lacquer! I used a siphon gun back then, anything else is unknown to me. All spraying will be done in my garage or outside, I know how bad overspray can be.