PDA

View Full Version : School/Training question

Jim Underwood
11-29-2010, 10:12 AM
I would like to teach and demonstrate woodturning. I have one student now, and have demonstrated turning my minature birdhouses for two clubs.

I have been turning since late 2004 and have become fairly good at it. However, I find that some of my skills need improvement and would like to attend some weeklong hands-on classes in order to be able to impart some of that knowledge to others.

Looking toward teaching in the future, if you were to attend a Southeastern school (I can't afford to fly out west) in 2011, which one would you attend, what classes would you take, and with whom?

David E Keller
11-29-2010, 10:49 AM
I know you ruled out flying west, but Vegas flights are pretty cheap generally. You could look into the Jimmy Clewes course at his house. It's a little cheaper than some others I've looked into. I'm interested in seeing some other recommendations.

Scott Lux
11-29-2010, 10:58 AM
Well, there's the Lux School of Woodturning and Sarcasm.

You come to Ohio, stand in a chilly garage and teach me what you know about wood turning. If you can make me a decent turner, you're a great teacher.

Then I'll teach you what I know about sarcasm. Yeah, right. Like I'm going to do that! (First lesson's free)

Jack Mincey
11-29-2010, 10:59 AM
You miight want to check and see if Nick Cook will let you come by and hang out in his shop for some lessons or take one of the coarses offered at Highland Hardware. Both should be close to where you live.
Jack

Mark Hubl
11-29-2010, 11:05 AM
Jim, I don't know who I would take a class with. Most of my classes have been via DVD's. Using these has been very helpful to me. If I was to go to a class I would probably look at Ellsworth, Grumbine, Mahoney or Clewes. I have heard nothing but good things about Ellsworth, Grumbines and Clewes classes, and I really like Mahoney's approach as well.