PDA

View Full Version : DeWalt Planer Questions

John Plenge
11-25-2010, 9:14 PM
Hi everyone,

I’m a novice woodworker in the process of setting up a workshop and am considering purchasing a Dewalt DW734 12 ½’ planer. I’ve read reviews online which state that the blades don’t last long. I’ve seen some replacement blades at Infinitytools.com which are supposed to last longer than the DeWalt blades. Has anyone tried them and, if so, are they worth buying? Also, some of the negative reviews I’ve read stated that the planer broke down quickly and needed frequent repairs. Is it possible this was caused by owners abusing the planer by trying to take too deep a cut on each pass or something similar?

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks.

John

glenn bradley
11-25-2010, 10:30 PM
I think you are either thinking of the DW735 knives which have a frequently reported short life. Or your talking the DW734 which I have run for a few years and am on the second side of the second set of knives. I would say I get about 10 months to a year of hobby use per side.

I build desks, tables, dressers, bookcases, wall cabinets, etc. I use oaks, walnut, ash, mahogany, shedua, padouk, cherry and maple. I only make 2 - 3 large pieces per year but do a lot of small things in between. I would say I am an 'enthusiastic' hobbyist as far as use goes. These are lunchbox planers and should be treated as such. You will read of folks taking 1/8" cuts for hours at a time and yes, that is an abuse of this type of machine. I have also read of a person who complained about his 3HP 15" spiral headed machine not having enough power so you have to factor those folks in when reading about knife and machine life ;-)

JohnT Fitzgerald
11-25-2010, 10:37 PM