PDA

View Full Version : New to WW, Seeking TS Advice

Brad Hill
12-30-2004, 1:49 PM
Greetings,

Quick background: I'm 26 years old and my wife and I just purchased our first home. It's a 100 year old fixer upper (http://www.itrn.org/niles_house/) and we're totally jazzed about it but as an apartment dweller for a while now, my tool collection is seriously lacking. I'm a computer engineer so of course I read about everything before I buy it. I found these forums a couple weeks ago and have been HOOKED ever since, reading all I can find about tools and techniques, and enjoying the various posted pictures.

Prior to two weeks ago, I owned a few screwdrivers ... and a soldering gun =). For Christmas I got a Dewalt Cordless 4 Pack (http://www.dewalt.com/us/products/tool_detail.asp?productID=8216) and a Nifty Miter Saw (http://www.dewalt.com/us/products/tool_detail.asp?productID=6058) so things are looking some better. I'm interested in trying my hands at some woodworking, specifically a platform bed and maybe some shelves for my new office. It is quite obvious to me that the table saw is the most commonly used tool (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=11374&highlight=tool+center+shop) most of you have so I've somehow worked myself up into believing I NEED to have one. Why oh why didn't anyone ever share with me the joy of buying tools before now?!

I am interested in pursuing WW as a hobby separate from the restoration of my home though it's doubtulf I will ever be as hardcore (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/member.php?u=869) as many of you are.