PDA

View Full Version : First Real Hollow Form - Box Elder & Walnut

steven carter
11-22-2010, 8:51 AM
This is my first attempt at a real hollow form. It is made from box elder with a walnut collar and finial. Final dimensions are 8 7/8" tall from the bottom to the tip of the finial, 4 1/2" wide at the widest part, and the finial itself is 2 7/8" tall. Hollowed to about 3/16" on the sides and thicker at the bottom for some stability. I hollowed this by hand with the Nicol hollowing bit to start and a sorby rs2000. I maxed out the depth I can hollow with the sorby tool as it was fully engaged at the bottom. Finished with a coat of home brew oil and then a couple coats of WOP. Beall buffed and ren wax.

Thanks for looking, comments and critiques welcome.

John Keeton
11-22-2010, 9:17 AM
Extremely well done!! Love the wood combination, too. There are some minor tweaks that may be appropriate, but for a first this is phenomenal! I like what you did with the lid and the double ended finial - very nice touch.

Steve, you have found yourself! Give up the bowls, and come on over to the hollow side!

David E Keller
11-22-2010, 9:23 AM
Beautiful wood. I think the collar and lid are nicely done as well. It seems like the curve has a few flattish areas on the main form, but that's hard to judge from photos sometimes. All in all, it's very nice.

Bernie Weishapl
11-22-2010, 10:16 AM
That is a good looking HF Steven. I like the wood combo.

Allen stagg
11-22-2010, 10:25 AM
I love it. It is not only good for a first, but it is good for a novice too, IMO. It does appear to have slight flat spots, however, I don't think that is always such a bad thing. Good job and to put contrasting wood collars for a first hollow vessel, that is fantastic.

Alan Trout
11-22-2010, 10:46 AM