PDA

View Full Version : Building a new shop any advice wil help.

Mike Sayre
11-21-2010, 12:23 PM
Hi all, I am a newbie and i am currently having a shop built where i just purchased my home...The shop is going to be like 24x28 got a really good price on it.Now comes the fun part...I want to make cabinets,tables,book shelves,etc. I currently have some tools that i bought to do some remodeling in my other homes i had...The tools i got is RIGID ts-3660 table saw,RIGID r2900 fixed base and plunge router kit for my router,DEWALT dw705 12inch compound miter saw with lazer on a DEWALT dw723 table,and i have a small mini pancake dewalt air compressor with a few nail guns big and small. Now from your experienced wood workers here am i on the right track on the tools i got now or do i start over i know i need more tools i see but i just want to make sure the ones i got are good accurate for a nice quality job as well..I bought lots of books and been reading and watching you guys talk on here as well.

Here are some tools i am looking into buying for my shop as well. Festool domino df-500 q joiner set,Dewalt 735 planer,DEWALT DW 7350 Planer Stand with Integrated Mobile Base,DEWALT DW7353 Chip Collection Accessory for DW735 Planer,Grizzly G0457 band saw,and mast-r-lift II complete table system that jessem has for my router table.

I know there's much more i need to buy like bisquits and other stuff but from basically seeing what i got and getting i am on the right track here???
Any info on the way im going to have my shop built would help a lot as well...Thanks a lot guys

Bill Huber
11-21-2010, 12:41 PM
Welcome to the Creek, the best woodworking forum on the net.

I am sure not a pro but some thoughts.....

Plan plan plan..... SketchUp can really help you with the layout and planning.

Make sure you have all the circuits you need. then figure out how many receptical you need and then double it.