PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Planer

Greg Hines, MD
11-18-2010, 5:45 PM
Has anyone ever seen or used one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001O0D6NS/ref=pe_86520_17675660_pe_epc_t2

I have a 12" planer, but no jointer, and this seems like an interesting compromise.

Doc

Neil Brooks
11-18-2010, 6:20 PM
A couple of threads (http://www.google.com/search?hl=&q=Jet+JJP-8BT+site%3Asawmillcreek.org&sourceid=navclient-ff&rlz=1B7GGLL_enUS364US364&ie=UTF-8) exist for this machine, if that's of any help :)

Lance Norris
11-18-2010, 6:23 PM
The general opinion is that the tables are too short for these Jet combos to be very effective jointers. That isnt the case as far as the euro combo machines are concerned. I have no first hand knowledge though, just what I have read. Take that for what its worth.

greg a bender
11-18-2010, 8:31 PM
From what I have read, most consider that one kind of junk.
The Jet 12", on the other hand, appears very nice and I am looking to upgade.
This coming from some one with an old Inca 10" combo, that is very nice, but a tad short for 8' or 10' work.

Greg

Mike Ashton
11-18-2010, 9:46 PM
I used to have the 10" version, I went to extreme measures to get that thing to work as advertised and finally gave up. I added 2 plywood shelves to the base and loaded them with 150 lbs of sand, then would set up 4 horses with mdf tables screwed down for feed tables and still couldn't get it to work well.

The motor is a tiny universal model that bogged down taking off 1/32" from 5" wide maple (jointing). I put it on CL and was happy to see it go. I already had a DW735, so I hadn't planed on using it for a planer. I did try the planer and had the same results. I checked everything over and talked to their tech support many times, ended up getting the impression they know the machine doesn't work well. The machine is so light they are easy to tip over, actually scary at times.