PDA

View Full Version : Four-wire 220V Conversion to 120V?

Pat Germain
11-14-2010, 2:21 PM
Hello all,

I am now in the same situation Matt reported back in September. I'm replacing my GE, electric EZ-Bake oven with a gas range. I pulled my range out and checked. There is only the big, four-wire receptacle back there. The new range requires a standard, 120V outlet.

Can I remove the four-wire receptacle and replace it with a 120V by blocking off wires? Or, is there a better solution? My house is nine years old, in case that makes a difference.

If anyone is interested, I opted for a Frigidaire "Professional" model. It has five burners, continuous grates, true convection and a warming oven; all the features I wanted. All the big box stores were having Veteran's Day sales. But Lowe's gave me 20% off the regular price (really) and another 10% because I'm a veteran. Then they offered me 18 months 0% financing (that offer expires tomorrow). I figured the extra 10% discount for veterans was just a gimmick. However, sure enough, they would not give me that extra 10% off until I went home and got a copy of my DD214 (discharge papers). Then, and only then, did they happily give me the extra 10% off.

So, with 30% off and 18 months at 0% interest, they hooked me an reeled me in. Now I just hope I don't somehow get filleted. :)

Rick Davidson
11-14-2010, 2:59 PM
Sounds like a steal. Home depot and Lowes offers the 10% off all the time every time I buy something I show them my military ID and get 10% off. Just FYI

Pat Germain
11-14-2010, 3:13 PM
Sounds like a steal. Home depot and Lowes offers the 10% off all the time every time I buy something I show them my military ID and get 10% off. Just FYI

That's good to know, Rick. Thanks, I did not know that. I was looking at an LG range at Home Depot, but at no time did they mention I could get 10% off as a veteran.

Jamie Buxton
11-14-2010, 4:12 PM