PDA

View Full Version : How to edge glue 3/16" solid wood veneer?

Ronald Kot
11-13-2010, 1:46 AM
I am looking for advice just one specific step of a veneer project, namely, how to glue the edges to make up a larger veneer sheet. I have never done this before.

The project is to veneer plywood that will make up 2 cabinet sides and 2 drawer fronts.

I am cutting 3/16" thick slices from solid wood (white oak, rift sawn) using these steps:
- thickness plane the blank before each bandsaw pass,
- bandsaw 3/16" thick slices. The resulting "leaves" are smooth on one side, bandsaw blade marks on the other.

Size of the leaves are about 4" x 18". I need to edge glue together 5 of these 3/16 x 4 x 18 leaves to make up the larger veneer sheet.

Each glued up veneer sheet will overlap the substrate (3/4) Baltic birch, by 1/4" all around. I will veneering both sides of the substrate.

At a local woodshop, the 3/16" veneer panel will go through a thickness sander to get it to 1/8", and the glue applied, overlay the substrate, and into a cold press.

Questions:

1. What type of glue for these 3/16 thin edges? Titebond 2, not 3? Or?

2. How to apply the glue?

3. What type of tape? How frequently to tape?

4. Tape both top and bottom of assembled veneer sheet?

5 Do I need to clamp to apply edge pressure to these thin glue joints? If so, what kind of clamping setup?

Thanks for any help!

Peter Quinn
11-13-2010, 7:01 AM