PDA

View Full Version : molding plane questions (and maybe gloat?)

Brander Roullett
11-09-2010, 1:38 AM
I live out on the Pacific Northwest, and it's hard to find a good source of the older tools. I get my fix bi-monthly at the one tool collectors club out here, but one of only other sources is antique stores.

This weekend there was a big Antique Fair out in Puyallup (don't even try pronouncing it) and I think I did pretty well.

I got a spare later model #45 without blades, but in good condition otherwise. I have a complete one (earlier model with floral casting) that I use, so this one I plan to set up with a standard groove and leave it alone. I paid $34 for it.

I also got a Disston square, some saw sets and my first molding plane.

I'm new to molding planes, but I've wanted one for a while. This one looked ok to me (untrained eye) and I was able to talk her down to $30 from her asking price of $45. (every one was willing to deal, must be the economy)

What did I buy? What is it's intended use? Help? I tuned it a little (not much) and cut some shavings. I didn't do much other than take of the little bit of rust, and flatten the back a little. I need slipstones, but it had some sharp left in it.

Steve Branam
11-09-2010, 6:33 AM
Very nice! Here in the Atlantic Northeast, that's what we call a "keepah!"

That's an ogee, a decorative molding profile with S-curve and steps. The steps serve as fences to stop it once it bottoms out working on an edge. I don't see spring lines marked on the end, but this one is held "on the spring", i.e. on an angle so that the steps are parallel with the workpiece face and edge.