PDA

View Full Version : Wood Splintering Solution?

Aaron Kitchell
11-05-2010, 3:32 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to WW and Sawmill Creek. I recently purchased a Ridgid 12" miter saw, and purchased a Freud Diablo 80 tooth, fine kerf blade. Even with the improved blade, I still experience wood splintering on the back side of my cuts. Does anyone have a solution?

Thanks,

Bob Turkovich
11-05-2010, 3:59 PM
Aaron,

Welcome to Sawmill Creek!

Is your miter saw a sliding compound miter or not? (Ridgid makes both).

Looking at their saws online it is hard to tell how big of a slot is in the table insert. Typically, you would have to make a zero clearance insert (not that hard to do if you have the right tools) to support the wood fibers on the bottom side of the cut. If it is a slider, your blade may not be in line with the stroke. Your manual should be able to tell you how to check and adjust for that.

Van Huskey
11-05-2010, 4:02 PM
Along with a ZCI you might try blue painter's tape along the cut line where you are getting splintering.

Jim Summers
11-05-2010, 4:25 PM
Along with a ZCI you might try blue painter's tape along the cut line where you are getting splintering.

I have used the blue tape with success when cutting picture frame stuff on my miter saw.

Van Huskey
11-05-2010, 4:27 PM
I have used the blue tape with success when cutting picture frame stuff on my miter saw.

What I think is funny is have have found almost as many uses for blue tape as duct tape, the only one it doesn't work for me is actually painting...:mad: Though I will say the green Frog Tape does an excellent job with painting.

Kent A Bathurst
11-05-2010, 5:15 PM
Be sure to let the blade get up to full speed before cutting, and slow down how fast you plunge/push [depending on saw type] the blade thru the cut.

Peter Quinn
11-05-2010, 6:31 PM