PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on affordable first vice(s) for new bench

Dustin Keys
11-03-2010, 12:40 PM
I’m trying to decide on vises for my upcoming bench build. As I’m a beginner without a lot of tools, money is tight (I can’t buy one, much less two, $200 vises right now). I see most bench plans with two vises.

So, on the more economical front, what would be a good start for my first bench? As I’m a beginner, I don’t yet have preferences on how I work or experience with different vise designs to guide my decision. I see vice screws for sale individually, as well as some inexpensive vices from Grizzly and HF that look appealing. I’m looking for a solid piece that will hold the work properly and not leave me frustrated.

If it is important, I’m building a modified version of the “Bob and Dave’s Fast and Cheap” bench (which isn’t particularly fast I might add). Ultimately, I might end up spending a lot of money on a later vise setup once I've determined what I like and how I like to work. I would prefer not to spend that money right now though as I would just be taking a shot in the dark as to which vices I would really like. This is also not my dream bench. It will be used to get me started and allow me to gain some experience to help me determine how I want to construct the next bench. Once I've done that, this bench will become my dedicated guitar bench.