PDA

View Full Version : Probably a really dumb question......

Saul Levinson
11-02-2010, 12:28 AM
I've been using my new Grizzly G0555P 14" bandsaw on many new projects.... but I'm still a novice to woodworking. My question deals with resawing really thick hardwoods (8/4, 12/4 mainly ash and walnut). The books indicate that a good quality 3 tpi 1/2 in. blade should be used, and I've done that. However, the cut, while fast, is quite rough and requires lots of planing to get the resawed planks ready for use. I've recently changed blades to a 10 tpi 1/2 in. raker blade and find, while its slower to cut, the resultant cut is smooth almost to the point that light sanding or a fast pass through the planer is all that is needed to have acceptable planks to work with. Is there anything wrong with using a 10 tpi raker blade to resaw? The difference in speed in resawing with the raker blade is not that bad, and overall saves lots of time and wood in that not much planing is needed. Why do the books recommend a 3-4 tpi blade? Is there something really bad/dangerous in using the 10 tpi blade?

Saul

Jamie Buxton
11-02-2010, 1:00 AM
The problem with high tooth density is that the gullets fill up with sawdust on their way through the cut, so the teeth kinda ride on the sawdust, away from the wood you're trying to cut. The result is a slow cut, and maybe overheating of the blade. Lower tpi blades can cut thicker wood.

glenn bradley
11-02-2010, 1:23 PM
Is there anything wrong with using a 10 tpi raker blade to resaw? The difference in speed in resawing with the raker blade is not that bad, and overall saves lots of time and wood in that not much planing is needed. Why do the books recommend a 3-4 tpi blade? Is there something really bad/dangerous in using the 10 tpi blade?

Saul