PDA

View Full Version : Is there such thing as a signal booster for my home computer network?

dennis thompson
11-01-2010, 8:57 AM
I have a home wireless network for my computers. One computer, in my upstairs office, is hard wired to my supplier (Verizon). One computer is downstairs & the signal is very weak (2 bars). It goes down vey often. Is there any kind of signal booster I could buy for the downstairs computer? If yes, what would you recommend? I'm not a computer expert so the simpler the better.
Thanks
Dennis

Matt Meiser
11-01-2010, 9:29 AM
What you are looking for is called a repeater or range extender. Here's a random example: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124359&nm_mc=OTC-Froogle&cm_mmc=OTC-Froogle-_-Network+-+Wireless+AP/Bridge-_-Linksys-_-33124359

In my opinion though, it would be better to run a wire down to a second location and use an access point. Or depending on what router you have maybe just better placmeent and/or better antennas would solve the problem.

Jerome Stanek
11-01-2010, 10:17 AM
try moving the router around just a little some times a move of 2 feet will give you a better signal also try changing the channel in the wireless part of your router. You may be getting some interference from another source.

Bryan Morgan
11-01-2010, 3:44 PM
There are different firmwares that allow you to boost the antenna output power. Theres some cheesy looking cardboard and foil things you can put around your antennas...

paul cottingham
11-01-2010, 3:56 PM
In my experience, they aren't worth the money.

Can you move your router or better yet, hardwire?

Eduard Nemirovsky
11-01-2010, 5:44 PM
or if you have a cable (coax) outlet in downstairs you can use a MOCA adapters. I am using it with great success. doesn't need any setup, just plug in and use. You can read info here -www+dslreports+com/faq/14437.