PDA

View Full Version : Void fillers

Brent Grooms
10-30-2010, 7:59 PM
I have seen a number of approaches to filling cracks and other voids in turnings but I have no practical experience in doing so.

What should I use to fill a void/crack that is approx 1/4in wide and have it be black in color? Also, how well does it polish or appear after sanding/ finishing?

John Keeton
10-30-2010, 8:11 PM
Brent, that is a pretty good sized crack. Does it go clear through? That may either limit choices, or call for some additional preparation.

Greg Just
10-30-2010, 9:43 PM
Brent:

Like John said, that is a big crack. If is more than on the surface, I would throw it in the burn pile. If it is a surface crack, I would probably mix instant coffee with epoxy. Smaller cracks can be filled with CA and coffee, but 1/4 inch is pretty big.

Be careful wit cracked wood! It isn't worth the risk of a serious injury.

Bernie Weishapl
10-30-2010, 10:10 PM
I agree that if the crack is a 1/4" wide and goes all the way thru it would be in my firewood pile. Al Stirt told me at a symposium one time that life is to short to turn bad wood. If it doesn't go all the way thru I have used epoxy mixed with sawdust and filled them. Let it dry 24 hrs and finish turning. Works very well but a surface finish is needed as oil doesn't work well with CA or Epoxy.

Steve Schlumpf
10-30-2010, 10:40 PM
Brent - I have used epoxy mixed with Ebony shavings, coffee or even metal powder when filling cracks. First thing you have to do is to determine if the crack is a safety hazard or not. If you figure it is safe - then you can apply the epoxy mix but make sure to allow it to cure before turning.

Also, like Bernie mentioned - epoxy will not take an oil finish, so you are looking at some type of surface finish like wipe-on-poly or lacquer.

Best of luck with this and seriously - make sure you are dealing with solid wood and it is safe to turn!

Kevin Lucas
10-30-2010, 11:31 PM