PDA

View Full Version : Gloat. My new plane.

Mark Baldwin III
10-30-2010, 4:02 PM
This is my new E. Baldwin plane. From what I know, they were in production up to 1850. It has a slightly skewed blade, a fence, brass depth stop, and a knicker blade. The mouth is a little worn, and the iron has seen better days (may be fixable though). I'm looking at a few more of them, so there may be some more gloating soon:cool:

Jamie Bacon
10-30-2010, 4:31 PM
Love the old woodies. And nothing like being able to buy old planes with your name on them. ;)

Jamie Bacon

Jim Belair
10-30-2010, 4:38 PM
Hi Mark

Nice plane. I had totally missed that it was by someone with the same surname.

I'm no expert but as these planes are generally used to remove a fair bit of material at a time, a slightly openned up mouth is of minor consequence.

Jim B

Gil Knowles
10-30-2010, 5:03 PM
Mark
That is one great looking old plane. You are fortunate, I have never seen anything like that up here.

Gil

Mark Baldwin III
10-30-2010, 6:18 PM
I'll have to take a picture of the boxing and add it here. It is real craftmanship. This is my first old woodie. I've been looking around at them for a while and this one inspired me to pull the trigger. To know that they are mostly hand made is (to me anyway) pretty inspirational. A lot of my interest does come from the fact that I share a name with the maker. I'm not a collector by any means. But it's a neat feeling to build a connection to the past.

Bill Houghton
10-30-2010, 7:56 PM
I really dig the way the sides are scalloped. Probably completely unnecessary functionally, but very very graceful.

Mark Baldwin III
10-30-2010, 8:19 PM
Bill-The scallops are very cool. I spend a lot of time looking at pictures of molding planes and other old wooden planes. I haven't seen too many with that touch. I am far from an expert, as this is the first 19th century plane I've ever held in my hands.