PDA

View Full Version : This time it's a burl!

Roger Chandler
10-30-2010, 1:53 PM
A couple weeks ago a friend called me and said he had a burl for me, turned out it was a stump. Yesterday he told me he had some burls for me, and we were scheduled to hunt the opening day of black powder today,and I told him I would look at them today.

Well, looks like he got it right this time. Cherry burls [2] and maybe the small beginning of 2 more? Also, a nice piece of pin oak, very tight grained, and I now have them all anchor sealed.

Question: What would be the best way to cut the big burl [pic no. 3] so as to utilize it the best.......I am new at burls, so any good advice would be appreciated! :)

Matt Newton
10-30-2010, 2:25 PM
Congrats of the burl. I have gotten some cherry burls and they ended up having voids in them. Yours look very solid. As to how to cut them up, if it were me I would send them to New Hampshire for further study.:rolleyes: Burls are like a box of chocolates, you never know what your going to get. Cut through the pith leaving the burl intact would be my suggestion. Good luck

Fred Perreault
10-30-2010, 2:36 PM
Rog,
Those look like very tight burls. Cherry burls around here are often stricken with soft spots and voids The voids can be nice looking if they are firm. I make mostly utility stuff, so I cut the smaller burls through the center pith and seal the halves for later. A natural edge bowl, or re-saw for plates and platters, or whatever.

Bernie Weishapl
10-30-2010, 5:56 PM
Congrats Roger. That is quite a haul. Can't wait to see what comes of it.

charlie knighton
10-30-2010, 7:25 PM
nice gloat, Roger

Marc Himes
10-30-2010, 7:59 PM
I would cut it through the pith or just rough it out between centers after trimming it to a rough circle shape. The smaller pieces could make very nice hollow form vases. I would rough them all out sooner rather than later. The larger burl could make a beautiful natural edge or winged piece.

Marc Himes

John Keeton