PDA

View Full Version : Need Recommendation on Brad Nailer

Ken Robb
12-26-2004, 12:41 PM
SWMBO had me build a new storage closet in the basement. Now it's time to install the trim. This includes trim for the rest of the basement which I have been putting off for the last 5 years or so. I'm looking for an inexpensive ($100.00) 18 ga brad nailer, but want to get the best bang for my buck. I don't see myself using this beyond the immediate trim work, but you never know! Any help in choosing a nailer will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ken

Bob Smalser
12-26-2004, 12:53 PM
http://www.leevalley.com/images/item/woodworking/assorted/23k0101g1b.jpg

Either the 3.5 or the 6oz will be perfect. ;) The cross peen is to start the brad without pinching fingers.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.asp?SID=&ccurrency=2&page=32052&category=1,43412

They also have a Chinese copy that's pretty good for a lot less.

I'm sure you need something for your shop more than you need Norm's ridiculous production brad nailer used for 6 brads at a time on one-offs.

Greg Narozniak
12-26-2004, 1:01 PM
I have the Stanley Bostich 5/8 to 1 3/8 model 35 (I think) and I am very happy with it. Had it for over 2 years and never had a jam. Father has a PC and he is very happy with his as well.

One thing to keep in mind is try to buy a gun that you can locally purchase nails for. Just a thought

Neal White
12-26-2004, 1:48 PM
The Porter Cable BN125A gets my vote. It currently is listed at amazon at $79.95, but available all over the place. If you also need a compressor, Porter Cable is running various specials with a compressor, air hose and one or two air nailers from about $200 up to $300, depending on what nailer(s) you get. The special with the BN125 will set you back $209.99 I picked up one at the big orange box a couple of weeks ago because I needed it "right now", and both the compressor and gun have been working every day, all day without complaint. Neal

Steve Cox
12-26-2004, 1:52 PM