PDA

View Full Version : Resawing logs - first time experience

Greg Book
10-29-2010, 5:09 PM
My workplace finally took down some trees to make room for a building expansion. Two of the trees were beautiful maple, 30' to the first branch, 30" diameter. And one was a little cherry tree, about 18" trunk, lots of branches. They took away the maple very quickly, but I was more interested in the cherry. So I took 4 logs, about 7-8" diameter and 30" long. I painted the ends at home, then trimmed to fit in the bandsaw. I installed a 3/4" blade on my Grizzly G0555 and resawed them into 1" boards.

This is my first time resawing logs and I was very impressed as the saw actually handled cutting through 6" of green hardwood. I even had a Tim Taylor moment: "YEEAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH! THIS is how lumber is made!"

I stacked the boards in my basement, and placed the dehumidifier with its exhaust facing the boards. I lowered the humidity level to 40% on the dehumidifier and its been removing buckets of water from the air for 2 weeks now. I just checked the moisture content by sticking the meter pins through the paint in the end grain, and the boards are 12-15%. The boards feel dry, but I'm wondering how accurate the moisture reading is. Did I really "air" dry the wood that quickly?

Mike Archambeau
10-29-2010, 6:13 PM
No pics....did not happen

Chris Padilla
10-29-2010, 6:19 PM
Stick the pins into the face in a couple different spots.

Nelson Howe
10-29-2010, 9:20 PM
I'm pretty sure the pins need to line up with the grain. Think electricity: you're measuring electrical resistance or conductivity or irritability or something. In the face, like chris said. The ends will dry fastest. Don't go too fast or you'll get checking. Just don't put a bunch of holes where you'll want a nice finished board later.

Nelson

Greg Book
10-29-2010, 10:07 PM
I found it difficult to shove the pins into the wood, but I did get the pins to stick in far enough so the meter could stand by itself.