PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needs help filling his toolbox

Dustin Keys
10-26-2010, 10:49 AM
I'm just starting out with woodworking. I have very little skill or knowledge to start with, so I'm going to begin with the fundamentals (cutting straight lines, learning to make the basic joints, hand planing, etc). I've always loved hand tools, so that's what I want to learn to use initially. I also don't have the funds to completely rig my shop with high quality power tools and machines, so I would be quite limited if I tried to go that route right now.

I've spent two weeks reading every book, magazine, and forum I could get my hands on, and that has taught me a lot. I also spent the last two weeks scouring every antique store and pawn shop I could in search of old chisels and planes. That was a completely fruitless search as I didn't find a single quality tool or even one that had a good structure to rehab. Given that this search didn't pan out, I'm looking to buy new tools or build my own.

I'm lost as to which tools I need to begin though. I'm sure I need some chisels (although I'm not sure how many or which ones), a quality saw or two (don't know which ones specifically though), and some handplanes. What I need are specifics. What kinds of saws does a beginner need and which specific saws would you recommend (as in the brand and model), and then the same for chisels.

I would really like to make my own handplanes as I am on a budget and that seems like a tool a beginner could build for far less money than he can buy a quality one. I have some experience in building and modifying my own tools from my experience with guitar repair and modification (that's how I initially became interested in woodworking). Am I right in my assumption that a beginner could learn to make a good handplane? I was planning on buying the Finck book on handplanes as a guide. If I'm dreaming and this isn't something a beginner can do, please let me know.