PDA

View Full Version : How to create the lid of a small box

Andrew Pitonyak
10-25-2010, 10:07 PM
I have very little experience and I want to make a small box to hold chisels.

I have some nice cherry boards that are surfaced and smooth at 1/2" that I would like to use.

Based on the size of the chisels, the box will be roughly 13" deep, 3" to 4" tall, and 12" wide. (roughly)

For the base, my intent was to build the base similar to how you would build a drawer (cut a 1/4" dado and slide in the base).

For the top, I considered something similar to the base but with a slide-off top, and I still might do this. I might prefer, however, to solidly secure the top and then use a hinge. it is not clear to me, however, how to solidly secure the top and account for wood movement and such.

Any ideas and/or links to a site on making small boxes such as this.

Andrew Pitonyak
10-26-2010, 9:12 AM
I think that I was not clear that in my mind, I would create a fully enclosed box with six sides, and then run it through the table saw to cut the top off. This leaves the top and bottom both with "sides". I had not considered simply creating a top without sides and then using hinges to attach the top.

del schisler
10-26-2010, 10:22 AM
I have very little experience and I want to make a small box to hold chisels.

I have some nice cherry boards that are surfaced and smooth at 1/2" that I would like to use.

Based on the size of the chisels, the box will be roughly 13" deep, 3" to 4" tall, and 12" wide. (roughly)

For the base, my intent was to build the base similar to how you would build a drawer (cut a 1/4" dado and slide in the base).

For the top, I considered something similar to the base but with a slide-off top, and I still might do this. I might prefer, however, to solidly secure the top and then use a hinge. it is not clear to me, however, how to solidly secure the top and account for wood movement and such.