PDA

View Full Version : LV Large vs. Medium Shoulder Plane

Kevin Murdock
12-24-2004, 5:21 PM
All,

I'm new to planes in general, and even more so to "Specialty Planes".

My question is which shoulder plane would you recommend for a first timer's non-bench plane purchase? My mind is set on LV, as the reviews are 50/50 compared to "the competition", and the fact that I've literally got a Canadian Flag tattooed on my arm. :D

I'm looking for overall, everyday use. I'm thinking that the medium will fit into smaller situations, and can do the same as the larger one just with more strokes . :)

Also, the medium is a newer release so maybe a more refined design?

Fellow Creekers, please lend your experience.

Thanks,
/Kevin

Mark Singer
12-24-2004, 6:18 PM
I would get the medium...I have that one and I have the big LN 73...which is too big most of the time

Herb Blair
12-24-2004, 7:06 PM
I agree with Mark. The medium plane from LV is great. Since most projects are not real large, the medium serves me well. I've had it for about a month, and find more and more opportunities to use it. I own a couple of LN planes, and I would compare the fit and finish of the LV to any of the LNs.
I don't think you will be disappointed with the LV medium shoulder plane.

Steve Cox
12-24-2004, 7:23 PM
I'll go with a third recommendation for the medium. I have a small Stanley 93 and the LV medium and there are very few situations where I will need anything larger.

John Miliunas
12-24-2004, 11:24 PM
I'll go with a third recommendation for the medium. I have a small Stanley 93 and the LV medium and there are very few situations where I will need anything larger.
Sorry, I didn't intend on hijacking the thread, but I've been kind of looking at the Stanley's. Steve, is that 93 of late-model vintage? How do you like it?:cool:

Tyler Howell
12-24-2004, 11:29 PM
Hey Kevin!