PDA

View Full Version : Finish for Lebanon Cedar???????

Thomas Canfield
10-23-2010, 9:56 PM
I recently turned a Lebanon Cedar bowl and started to finish it in my usual method of buffing with tripoli, and then apply a oil/polyurethane mix finish. I did one coat and it has not dried after a week. A smaller bowl turned from a drop section took the finish well and dried. Any suggestions?

Karl Card
10-24-2010, 12:04 AM
either the cedar has a high moisture content or has quite a bit of oil in the wood. I am not sure about lebanon cedar as to oil content however.

I had the same problem with a piece of cocobolo and red cedar recently and a lifelong woodworker here suggested one of two things, oil or mosture.

John Keeton
10-24-2010, 6:52 AM
I have no experience personally with this as I don't use much in the way of exotics, but other threads have discussed a preliminary wipe down with acetone prior to applying any finish.

Also, I would imagine the heat from buffing would lower the viscosity of the oils and they would come to the surface more.

Bernie Weishapl
10-24-2010, 11:30 AM
I agree and think there is a oil problem. I had the same problem Karl had. I wiped the wood down with mineral spirits and that seemed to do the trick.

James Combs
10-24-2010, 5:24 PM
I read some about this problem in another thread a few days ago and the suggestion to wipe down with a solvent was mentioned in it also. The wipe down may be fine for bowl or other larger items but I would be reluctant to use it on a pen especially acetone. I would be afraid that it might loosen the CA glue I use to glue the pen together. I think I would be reluctant to use acetone on a bowl too if I had any CA patches in it. All that being said I have turned a few pens from red cedar, cocobolo, bocote, and other hard oily woods but have not had any problems finishing them with my usual CA type of finishing.

Art Kelly
10-24-2010, 6:44 PM
...it might be right. (Old aerospace proverb.)

But acetone ain't it.