PDA

View Full Version : Good magazine

Dahl Troy Perry
10-22-2010, 7:13 PM
I know there is several magazines on turning but the book stores around here don't carry them to look at to see witch ones are good or not. So whitch ones do you like that has patterns and tips?

John Keeton
10-22-2010, 7:18 PM
Dahl, I subscribe to Woodturning Design, which is a pretty good publication. I was doing the paper version of the AAW magazine - American Woodturner. However, on my membership renewal, I went with the online membership. Seems much of the AAW magazine is of little interest to me. Good content, and well done, but a little esoteric for my tastes sometimes.

I have not seen any other turning magazines locally, though they must be out there?!?!

Terry Murphy
10-22-2010, 7:19 PM
Wood Turning
http://woodworkersinstitute.com/page.asp?p=4

I subscribe. A great Magazine.

Terry

Jack Gaskins
10-22-2010, 7:26 PM
I am fairly new to turning but I have a copy or two of all the turning magazines there are and I would say my favorite is the british magazine called Woodturning Magazine. It is full of great projects and tips. The AAW and Woodturner Design mags are beyond my skill level/taste in most articles I have seen. To me they offer more of the artsy/fartsy stuff, which is great if you are at that level of woodturning. The only drawback to the Woodturning Magazine is it is published in England. You can find it in the bigger cities but it cost more to purchase and a subsription is expensive. The next best thing is my library sytem here in Indianapolis, they have tons of woodturning books and I have checked them ALL out.:D.

Dahl Troy Perry
10-22-2010, 8:28 PM
Thanks for the info will look for those mags. Just got home from Indy went to the wood stores pointing out things to wife that I want for Christmas.She said it would be easyer to point out things that I don't want DA! The libary here in Kokomo will have to look at never thought about looking there thanks.

Greg Just