PDA

View Full Version : How do I get started with this?

Dustin Keys
10-22-2010, 4:17 PM
I’ve been reading through the forums here for a week or so now. I joined just the other night to be able to view some of the pictures. I was completely blown away by Dan O’Sullivan’s walnut desk/bookcase in the project forum. That’s what led me to post this.

I have very little woodworking experience. Basically all I’ve done are some projects growing up around the house with my dad such as rebuilding the deck and similar repair and building work. Through that, I’ve learned to use most of the basic power tools (table saw, band saw, router table, drill press), but not very well unfortunately as these projects didn’t require much precision. I’m also a guitarist that has been doing his own setup, repair, and modification work for several years now. Through that, I’ve learned a bit about finishing, making my own tools for special tasks (mainly because I couldn’t afford the pre-modified specialty tools), and patience when working with these sorts of things. That’s all the experience I have. I began woodcarving a few weeks ago (relief carving), as I enjoy it and I hope to eventually use those skills for other things. My wife and I purchased our first house early this year, so I now have a garage to use for shop space (previously lived in an apartment, so I couldn’t do any big projects). In the process of furnishing the house, I’ve discovered that I love great wood furniture. I’m particularly fond of large, ornate, antique pieces, and I now want to begin down the path towards building pieces like that. As an ultimate goal, I would like to build things like Dan’s walnut bookcase/desk.