PDA

View Full Version : New DIYer needs help with SCMS choice

Clint Morris
10-21-2010, 8:49 PM
New board member here. I'm trying to build my tool collection one project at a time and my first project is going to be installing some laminate flooring in my house. I am fairly new to this type of stuff but I'm looking forward to some of the home updates I would like to do. My tool collection is completely lacking though. I figured that a SCMS would work for the flooring project and the installation of new baseboards to add that updated look to the house. My budget for a saw is around $500 for a workhorse SCMS.

I had my eye on the Makita LS1016L at a local Home Depot for $499. I also found a Makita LS1214FL at another hardware store selling for the same price but I wasn't sure if it was a better saw or not. I understand that it is a 12" compared to the 1016's 10" but other than that, I have no idea what the differences are.

Just to make my choice a little harder, Lowe's has the Bosch 5312 for $599 but it comes with a free Bosch T4B stand that retails for $300. I also have a 10% Lowe's coupon. My google-fu is weak and I am unable to find any reviews on this saw. It is also lacking a laser like the Makita's. I'm not sure if I will end up using it extensively but it certainly doesn't hurt to have it. This deal comes with a well reviewed stand too. Again, doesn't help my decision making process.

With that said, do any of you guys have some input you wouldn't mind sharing with a woodworking greenhorn? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

greg a bender
10-21-2010, 9:15 PM
Hi and welcome to the creek!

I just bought a Makita LS1016L, and am thrilled to death with it! Very accurate and great cutting capacity. Much better than the older Makita 10" or 12", CSMS from what I understand.

This saw just may force me to get rid of my 1960's CMan RAS.
Yeah, 12" crosscut at 90 and 6 5/8 crown cuts, for $499.00? Hard to beat, IMHO.

Greg

Don Morris
10-21-2010, 9:23 PM