PDA

View Full Version : Planer knives

Chuck Hancock
10-20-2010, 9:34 AM
Help me out here. I'm in the market for a planer of my own. I've been using a DW733 for about six years at work. It's been an acceptably reliable tool over that period of time. One of it's better features is a set of knives (two) that can be resharpened. I keep three sets in rotation and send one out for resharpening every eight to ten weeks, at ten bucks a pop. My research in current planers has revealed a dominant trait in what's being called "disposable" knives. The deal seems to be a set of (commonly) three knives that are each sharpened on two sides and are non adjustable on the cutterhead. When each side has been dulled, toss 'em and buy more. SERIOUSLY? So.. I've had my eye on a Delta 22-590, but this also appears to possibly be a throw away model, though no one mentions this. It's all about "quick change" and "ease of use".. etc. Does anyone know if the 22-590's knives can be resharpened? And if they can't, can you share a bench top planer model that does have resharpenable knives? I'm obviously speaking of traditional knives here, not indexable carbide insersts. Thanks in advance.

Chuck Hancock
10-20-2010, 3:20 PM
Bump. Anyone?

Kirk Poore
10-20-2010, 3:41 PM
I've heard of people sharpening disposable knives once, then they're too narrow after that. I've never done it, though.

It sounds like you're getting a good deal on sharpening, at about 42 cents per inch (costs me 50 cent/in where I go). How many sharpenings does a knife get? Let's say you get 5 sharpenings per knife and your knives cost $40 per set, that comes out to $90 for six uses, or about $15 per use.

My old DW 734 cost like $50 per set (3 knives), and had two edges, so that came out to $25 per use. (Note--I had a two knife Delta before the 734, and the Dewalt knives didn't really last much longer it seemed so I'm not incuding that in the equation.)