PDA

View Full Version : 100 PC router bit set from Sears, is it worth it??

Duane Bledsoe
10-15-2010, 7:33 AM
There is a 100 piece router bit set from Sears.com that is priced at $109.00, made by a company called Eastern Steel. The description says they are grade 6 -7, have high shearing angles, and an HRA hardness of 90. I don't know what any of that means, but I really appreciate it if someone would take a look at this link and let me know if these are decent or are junk. Thank you.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_SP100A865S1685876703P?prdNo=2&blockNo=2&blockType=G2

Remember, I'm just getting into woodworking. I plan to be making wall hanging shelves and other small decorative things to start out with but eventually would like to get into some furniture making.

Will Overton
10-15-2010, 7:43 AM
They could be worth it if you like to experiment. Most woodworkers I know, myself included, tend to use the same style/profile router bits over and over. For that reason we buy high quality bits. We sometimes shy away from trying something new, not wanting to spend $30+ to try something.

This set can give you the freedom to try different profiles for a buck a piece. Once you see which ones you will use, replace them with a quality bit. You will probably find that most of the just gather dust.

Dave Gaul
10-15-2010, 8:40 AM
If you can't afford to buy better now, I say go for it. Whiteside and Infinity Tools both make affordable "starter kits", check them out and decide for yourself.. you won't get 100 bits for that price, but you have have top quality bits to start with...

I started with a Harbor Freight/Lifetime Cardbide set, about 50 bits for $75 I think... they seemed great at first, but they wore quickly. I've been replacing them with Whiteside's, CMT's, Freud's, Infinity's, Eagle America's and so on... I now have an addiction to router bits!

del schisler
10-15-2010, 9:08 AM