PDA

View Full Version : update: mission, build pens

John Pratt
10-13-2010, 9:46 AM
A little update and question to my earlier thread about the Fort Sill Post Commander's desire to turn the oldest tree on post (damaged in the Jan. 2010 ice storm) into pens to give away to soldiers and at conferences. Attached are pics of the tree and larger limbs that are on the ground. My guess is White Oak, what say you? The whole tree did not fall but snapped off about 30 feet off the ground (one of my soldiers is standing next to the tree for perspective). Given the size of the limbs on the ground it looks to have been 70-80 feet high. What should I expect turning white oak? Keep in mind I am a flat work woodworker who is a novice at turning. Many thanks to Michael James who gave me a great class with tips and tricks while he was here at Fort Sill last weekend. Decisions still have to be made about milling this down, but I think I can handle some of the smaller stuff in the shop or with my chainsaw. Thoughts?

Roger Chandler
10-13-2010, 10:02 AM
White Oak it is! There will certainly be a need for drying this wood, or you will have crack, split, check, warp and any other way you want to describe the drying without controlling it.

One positive, is this is a really old tree, then the growth rings should be close together and that will make it more stable than a fast growing tree. You should at least get it cut up in logs, and then make your pen blanks a good bit larger than needed to accomodate the drying [may 1" to 1-1/4"] and you could soak them in Denatured alcohol and put them in some shavings to cure out for a few days.

A bandsaw with a resaw sled could handle the logs up to about 12 inches in length, but you must be very careful and have a sharp blade with the correct teeth configuration [2-3 tpi]

Andrew Kertesz
10-13-2010, 3:11 PM