PDA

View Full Version : Resawing w/ 14" Bandsaw & Spacer Block

James Malcolm
10-13-2010, 6:15 AM
I recently got a good deal on some 12/4 material up to 12" wide. I need some thinner stuff and would maybe like to bookmatch my panels. I don't see a need to cut veneers at this point and I would certainly looked at a higher quality saw if that were the case. What do I really need to cut a 12" hardwood board in half? Will a 14", 1 or 1.5 hp, cast frame w/ spacer block work acceptably well with the proper blade? I'm concerned with how well a saw will operate at the limits of its advertised specs. I'm not a production shop, so speed isn't as much of an issue. I really don't have the money for a welded steel frame w/ the appropriate cutting height. My choices are either to take it to a millworks or get a cast frame saw and spacer block. I would buy or build an appropriate resaw fence.

Joe Mindell
10-13-2010, 8:01 AM
I have a Jet 14" with a riser block and I've had no trouble resawing extensively with it. You need to spend the time to get everything lined up well and buy or make a resaw fence of some kind. I've used Highland Hardware 1/2" "Wood Slicer" blades, which have been reviewed well, and I've been happy with them.

I usually do the resaw a little oversize and then plane down to final thickness to insure that small misalignments won't kill me. Also, though the resawn surface if pretty good, it hasn't been perfect in my hands, so planing it is needed anyway

Hope this is helpful.
Joe Mindell

Paul Murphy
10-13-2010, 9:05 AM
Another thing to plan for is stock movement after resaw. Even flat well acclimated lumber may move around after resaw, so leave room for re-jointing and planing. Long heavy boards will require infeed/outfeed support, so plan on that.