PDA

View Full Version : What Magazine subscription?

Peter Gavin
12-21-2004, 2:07 PM
Hello all,

I've been spending a lot of money on magazines at cover price and figure I should spring for a subscription. My question is what magazine (if I could only pick one) would you recomend subscribing to. I am relatively new to wworking and am most interested in learning new techniques and building a decent tool collection, although finishing a few 'projects' would certainly help convince SWMBO that the money I'm spending is well invested. I plan on using minimal power tools and using neander tools for fine work and detailing, but I'm not at all adverse to building jigs etc to make a repetitive job simpler or easier. My design tastes run to arts and craft or even 'simpler' lines and detailing (so don't steer me towards magazines focusing on the reproduction of Louis XVI).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Peter

Wendell Wilkerson
12-21-2004, 2:21 PM
My favorite right now is Popular Woodworking. I think they have the best hand tool articles. I think they have good are articles on power tool techinques also. I don't pay close attention to the project articles. I like to design my own stuff so I only use project articles as inspiration. If you are looking for projects to build, Woodsmith is excellent. I think they have the best project articles out there. I used to subcribe to Woodsmith. I find now that I get better bang for the buck buying only those issues that interest me.

Wendell

Marc Hills
12-21-2004, 2:27 PM
Hi Peter: