PDA

View Full Version : anchor seal2?

Tony Kent
10-08-2010, 9:01 PM
Howdy,
Which one are you'all using the original anchor seal or anchor seal 2?
Where are you buying it also?
hehe I am hoping on some fresh cut maple soon....yippeee WA. state:) I'll keep you posted.
Thanks in advance...
Tony

Chuck Jones
10-08-2010, 10:04 PM
I have been using Anchorseal for several years on my sawlogs. I buy five gallons at a time from UCC Coatings www.ucccoatings.com. I haven't bought any since Anchorseal2 came to be. My guess is it's a fairly small change in formula to satisfy some "Green" marketing claims.

I have not been very satisfied with the results of Anchorseal on woodturning blanks. I'm convinced nothing is completely effective in stopping cracks except to turn the darn thing immediately... which is usually impractical. I'm having better (I think) results with melted paraffin wax. Someone on another forum said they are having better results with two coats of Anchorseal.

Ken Hill
10-08-2010, 10:46 PM
Ive been using the AS2. Two coats on most stuff here with decent results.

Terry Murphy
10-09-2010, 12:53 AM
If you had 2 coats on, how would it ever dry?

Terry

Ken Fitzgerald
10-09-2010, 1:00 AM
It's my undestanding that it really doesn't stop the wood from drying it just slows down the process.

That is why Bill Grumbine in his first video shows himself painting endgrain on roughed out bowls IIRC.

Norm Zax
10-09-2010, 3:48 AM
It is a misconception that completely sealed ends will prevent wood from drying. My logs receive a double coat of melted paraffin and some (those that dont get used) eventually become bone dry. Sealing ends is only allowing wood evaporation to become sufficiently slow, either through ends AND sides or just through sides.
BTW, AS2 claims "made from renewable, natural ingredients and less petroleum-based raw material, AS2® is a 'greener' and more economical choice for customers".

Bernie Weishapl
10-09-2010, 11:26 AM