PDA

View Full Version : Scored the Mother Load of Apple (and a proposition...)

Ben Martin
10-07-2010, 12:04 AM
Sooooo.....

I responded to a local ad about an apple tree being cut down and the wood was free for the taking. Having never succesfully gotten a response from one of these ads, I once again shot off my typical e-mail, "Hi, I am a woodworker and interested in some of your _____ tree to use for various projects, let me know."

10 minutes later my phone rings, the lady was very nice and thought that it was pretty cool that I would be using the wood for a purpose rather than heat (BUT, I would love to have some apple smoked BBQ...), she says that she would send me an e-mail with pictures of the larger logs so that I could make a decision if they were big enough; I told her that I would be interested in anything 6-8" and up.

An hour later the e-mail comes, but I was in the shop and missed it, 30 minutes after that, I got a call again from her trying to see if I was actually interested. As luck would be, my cell phone froze, wouldn't do anything for 10 minutes as I frantically tried to call her back, saying that I wanted the wood. Finally I got through to her, made arrangement and was off to the races. I tossed the wheel barrow in the truck, my two trusty furry companions and headed down closer to the heart of Chicago.

When I got there, I was amazed and what was in front of me, this thing didn't look like an apple tree, but a maple or oak tree, this thing was huge; must have been 5' in circumference at the bottom at least. She points to some of the "larger" logs that she had sat aside for me, I was like a kid in a candy store digging through the piles. I must have loaded the truck for half an hour, until I didn't think the suspension would take anymore.

I gave her my thanks and returned home.