PDA

View Full Version : The Letter said, "congratulations you've been accepted

Tom Hamilton
10-01-2010, 9:30 PM
to the Douglas County Art Center Juried Show.

What! Are you kidding!

It's true. I submitted three pieces to the local art center's juried show. I really thought they would write back and say "this is an art show not a craft show." But, wonder of wonders, I got an acceptance letter today for one of the pieces:

It's a Leyland Cypress I cut on New Year's Eve last year. It dried inside in blank form for 6 months or so and when I turned it I found the voids. It's 11" across and 4.5" tall.

Now I've seen artists, here and on the AAW site, and I know I'm no artist. I couldn't carry John Keeton's tool bag and I haven't slept in a Holiday Inn recently.

But it is a kick to advance turning just a little bit in my community. I'll be at the opening, sipping white wine and answering questions.

Should be interesting.

Cheers, Tom, in D'Ville, wondering how to act like an artist.

Sean Hughto
10-01-2010, 9:34 PM
Congrats! Great looking bowl. Really great shape and details, not to mention the wood.

Pete Jordan
10-01-2010, 9:35 PM
Congrats Tom!

It is a beautiful piece and you should be very proud. Make sure you eat your share of snacks and wine!

Michael James
10-01-2010, 9:37 PM
Good job, nice to see you getting some recognition. I would suggest wear a beret and speak in newagenonsense about everything, intersperesed with a lot of "like...."'s thrown in. Claim a bad childhood, and a self destructive early adult decade, riddled with angst. You'll be a hit.:cool:
(or ask Keeton or the other guys that have actually done it)

Steve Schlumpf
10-01-2010, 9:45 PM
Congrats Tom - really makes one feel good doesn't it?

Good looking bowl! Good possibility that you will have the only turning in the show - so be prepared to talk turning to those curious folks who want to know how you created your art!