PDA

View Full Version : Tools and equipment you've lusted over

Ted Wong
10-01-2010, 9:21 PM
What tools have kept you wanting over the years?

I'll start with the eye candy that has been my distraction for eons.

With some extra cash I scraped together this summer I finally got the Japanese chisels I had been bugging the wife for over the last 15 years. And at work I've been dreaming of a european style slot mortiser for just as long and this week my prayers were answered when I found a used machine at an affordable price.

Peter Quinn
10-01-2010, 9:27 PM
Me, lust after tools?????:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Short list? Lie Nielson 4 1/2 smoother, and a C.R Onsrud inverted pin router. Oh, and a Garniga Entry door cutter stack for the shaper. And a Byrd head on a 16" Felder jointer/planer, and.............

Kevin Womer
10-01-2010, 9:41 PM
That's easy, the new Unisaw. Realistically, a smoothing plane, from Lee Valley.
Kevin

Neil Brooks
10-01-2010, 9:42 PM
Like ... anything that Northfield makes ?

Yeah. Lotto stuff. Mmmmm.

Bruce Wrenn
10-01-2010, 9:47 PM
I lusted for a Forrest WWII for several years, but the price stopped me. Finally bought one, then first time I used it, one of those staples that hold a SKU tag on caused it to lose five teeth, or parts there of. Sent it back to Forrest, and fix was almost same as what I gave for the blade. But I wasn't impressed with it's cutting to begin with, so it's still in the box. As a side note, for the last seven years, I have had a Craftsman 10" RAS resting on top of a Uni saw. Uni is complete, I just haven't bothered to replace existing contractor's saw. One day - maybe.

Jon Lanier
10-01-2010, 10:00 PM
I don't 'lust' after tools. But there are some tools that are on the list I'd like to have; A new Bandsaw. Then maybe a drum sander.

george wilson
10-01-2010, 10:15 PM
Didn't like the way the WWII cut???? What kind of saw blades have you been using?

Jeff Duncan
10-01-2010, 10:36 PM
Are you serious???