PDA

View Full Version : Glue Up Question

Sean Troy
10-01-2010, 10:53 AM
I'm just getting started on reviewing plans for a dresser I'm going to build for my daughter and see the plans call for 6- 3 1/2 " strips glued up for the dresser top. Is that the best way to go or would 3 7" boards be better? I'm just learning so I'm trying to understand the reasoning behind this. The wood is Qtr. sawn Wht Oak if that makes a difference. I do understand the opposite grain orientation of each piece to avoid cupping. Thanks for any help, Sean

Jamie Buxton
10-01-2010, 10:58 AM
If the wood is truly quartersawn, it doesn't present the cupping issue that flat-sawn lumber does.

And the plan's width restrictions probably just come from whatever planks the builder had on hand. Wider will work just as well.

Prashun Patel
10-01-2010, 11:35 AM
Does the top call for quartersawn? If yes, then I believe it'll be plenty stable @ 7" wide, and the grain matching should be easy.

Sometimes 7" is harder to come by and plans are built using widths 4-6".

If the top is flatsawn, narrower strips might be a structural as well as an aesthetic choice.

Sean Troy
10-01-2010, 11:48 AM
The plans actually call for Cherry but I have some really nice Qtr. sawn I would like to use for the top and drawer fronts, the rest flat or rift sawn wht. oak. The qtr. sawn I have is 11" wide and the left over from each piece will have a use of it's own. Shouldn't be much waste.

Mike Cutler
10-01-2010, 11:58 AM
Sean

You shouldn't have any issues with two boards 11" wide. True Qsawn oak is pretty stable, and by the time it's affixed to the support structure underneath, I wouldn't expect it to cup on you.

While Qsawn material does have better, meaning less, shrink across the width than flatsawn material. It will still expand and contract with changes in humidity, so be sure to leave a little room for the top to expand and contract.