PDA

View Full Version : Mission: build pens

John Pratt
09-30-2010, 12:11 PM
I apologize in advance for the vagueness of the question and the possibility of a multitude of responses/opinions, but I need a starting point. I am a woodworker (primarily just flat work) on a military installation (Fort Sill, Oklahoma). Recently an 800 year old tree fell here on post (I have not had a chance to look at the tree yet, but will follow up when I do). The boss gave me the mission that he wants to turn the tree into pens to give away at upcoming conferences, to soldiers, etc. I consider myself a novice turner and have no real experience turning pens (I am however a quick learner). With that said, where do I start with the pen turning? Can someone give me a “must have” list of equipment (mandrels, vises, glues, etc) that I need to make this happen? The boss’s rep like the look of the Jr. Statesman pen that so many of you have done in the past, but I cannot find a retailer that sells that kit. They then want the pens laser engraved and numbered, but I figured I would take it one step at a time.

Caveat: I have the PSI beginners guide to pen turning on the lathe CD (informative, but I want more info).

I will be turning on a Jet 1642VS #2MT.

John

Mike Svoma
09-30-2010, 1:26 PM
John,

Sounds like a good mission. You can find the Jr. Statesman kits on the website for Craft Supplies USA, www.woodturnerscatalog.com (http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com)

I hope no-one deletes the link.

Mike

Greg Just
09-30-2010, 2:18 PM
John:

I would suggest that you might want to find a local turning club and they could assist in instructing you in pen making.

Greg

David E Keller
09-30-2010, 3:08 PM